The Dominicans

dominicain.jpg
800 years ago, the Order of Fishermen, also called the Dominicans, in reference to their founder, Dominique de Guzman, was created.
 

Born in Castile, Dominique instituted the Order of Friar Preachers in 1215, during his visit to Toulouse.

Around 1195, the superior of the chapter of the regular canons of the cathedral of Osma wanted to reform his institution, as the canons were not very fervent. He asked the newly ordained to join them, and they accepted. His kindness appealed to other clerics who choose to return to a rule-conforming life.

In 1206, Innocent III sent Dominique and a group of Cistercian abbots on a mission. They went to the South of France to preach to bring heretics back to the Catholic faith. The religious understood the motivations of Catharism: the Church does not always act in accordance with the Gospel when it comes to poverty, chastity and charity.

In reaction, Dominique founded in Toulouse the first preaching order in 1215. The Dominicans were born.

Their mission: the apostolate and contemplation. A large place is left for prayer and meditation, work is not included in their rule unlike the Benedictines and Cistercians.

The main mission of these Catholic religious was evangelization, which they accomplished through preaching and teaching. Their first mission was the fight against the Cathars in southwestern France where they trained the cadres of the Inquisition.

Les Dominicains.

dominicain.jpg
Il y a 800 ans, l'ordre des Frères Pêcheurs, aussi appelé les Dominicains, en référence à leur fondateur, Dominique de Guzman, était créé.
 

Né en Castille, Dominique institua l'Ordre des frères prêcheurs en 1215, lors de son passage à Toulouse.

Vers 1195, le supérieur du chapitre des chanoines réguliers de la cathédrale d’Osma souhaite réformer son institution : les chanoines sont peu fervents. Il demande au nouvel ordonné de les rejoindre. Celui-ci accepte. Sa bonté séduit les autres clercs qui choisissent de revenir à une vie conforme à la règle.

En 1206, Innocent III envoie Dominique et un groupe d’abbés cisterciens en mission. Ils partent dans le Sud de la France prêcher pour ramener des hérétiques à la foi catholique. Le religieux comprend les motivations du catharisme : l’Église n’agit pas toujours conformément à l’évangile en ce qui concerne la pauvreté, la chasteté et la charité.

En réaction, il fonde à Toulouse le premier ordre prêcheur en 1215. Les Dominicains sont nés.

Leur mission : l’apostolat et la contemplation. Une large place est laissée à la prière et la méditation, le travail n'est pas inscrit dans leur règle contrairement aux Bénédictins et Cisterciens. 

Ces religieux catholiques ont pour mission principale l'évangélisation, qu'ils accomplissent par la prédication et l'enseignement. Leur première mission a été la lutte contre les cathares du sud-ouest de la France où ils formèrent les cadres de l'Inquisition.