Brew to subsist

prior3.jpg

The abbeys now brew mainly to ensure their subsistence.

Ensure the subsistence of the community.

The monasteries have heavy burdens: maintenance of monks and lay brothers, care of the sick or teaching, assistance to the needy, reception of pilgrims. A monastery must be able to feed all the people who are in the establishment or who revolve around it. As the donations are not enough, the monastery cultivates the plants, raises the animals necessary for its food and seeks to create surpluses which are sold outside.

 

Due to the fact that a certain number of monks knew how to read, write and count, the abbeys took advantage of this to bring technical advances to brewing: precision in the proportions, the use of written recipes and the addition of hops for their aromatic, antibacterial and preservative properties.

 

Far from being only a means of ensuring hospitality to its visitors and constituting a food supplement for the monks, the brewing of beer was also a source of income for the abbeys, in particular to maintain or modernize their buildings and installations.

Over the centuries, it often happened that lay brewers or cabaret-keepers complained about the competition they considered unfair from the brewing monks, who in some cases had a fairly large trade in beer and set up restaurants and places of entertainment to promote the sale of their production.
 
Nowadays, given the reputation acquired by the "beer of the monks" which sells generally well, and considering the many technical evolutions in brewing and the modern means of disposing of the production, the brewing of beer remains a proven means to provide income for a religious community, although it must be admitted that the number of authentic abbey breweries has dropped considerably over the last two centuries .

Brasser pour subsister

prior3.jpg

Les abbayes brassent désormais essentiellement pour assurer leur subsistance.

Assurer la subsistance de la communauté.​

Les monastères ont de lourdes charges : entretien des moines et des convers, soin des malades ou enseignement, assistance aux indigents, accueil des pèlerins. Un monastère doit pouvoir nourrir toutes les personnes qui sont dans l'établissement ou qui gravitent autour. Comme les dons ne suffisent pas, le monastère cultive les plantes, élève les animaux nécessaires à son alimentation et cherche à créer des surplus qui sont vendus à l'extérieur.

 

Du fait qu'un certain nombre de moines savait lire, écrire et compter, les abbayes en profitèrent pour apporter au brassage des avancées techniques : de la précision dans les proportions, l'utilisation de recettes écrites et l'adjonction de houblon pour ses propriétés aromatiques, antibactériennes et conservatrices.

 

Loin de n'être qu'un moyen d'assurer l'hospitalité à ses visiteurs et de constituer un complément alimentaire aux moines, le brassage de bière constituait aussi une source de revenus pour les abbayes; notamment pour entretenir ou moderniser leurs bâtiments et installations.

Au fil des siècles, il arriva souvent que les brasseurs ou cabaretiers laïcs se plaignent de la concurrence jugée déloyale des moines brasseurs qui pour certains faisaient un commerce assez large de la bière et mettaient en place restaurants et lieux de distraction, en vue de favoriser l'écoulement de leur production.
 
De nos jours, étant donnée la réputation acquises par la "bière des moines" qui se vend généralement bien, et considérant les nombreuses évolutions techniques en matière de brasserie et les moyens modernes d'écouler la production, le brassage de bière demeure un moyen éprouvé d'assurer un revenu à une communauté religieuse, même s'il faut admettre que le nombre d'authentiques brasseries d'abbaye a considérablement baissé depuis environ deux siècles.