The Franciscans

capucin1.jpg
We can call “Franciscans” all the religious who follow the rule of Saint Francis of Assisi, whether they are conventuals, Franciscans or Capuchins.

 

In 1209, Francis of Assisi gathered around him eleven lay brothers who recognized him as having spiritual authority, but had not taken religious vows. They took Gospel teachings such as poverty and humility as their way of life.

 

These very strict requirements worried the religious authorities. They saw it as an ideal difficult to follow and were suspicious of this grouping of non-religious.

It was not until the death of Francis of Assisi in 1226 that the Franciscans became religious (1229); they then organized according to the model of the Dominicans who devote themselves to preaching and teaching.

 

The Franciscans are therefore not monks, but religious from a group called Mendicant Orders. They are not a contemplative Order, although there is a strong emphasis on prayer, life with God and even the hermitage.

They are not purely active either. It is an evangelical mixture of the two typical forms of religious life: contemplative and active. In 1525, the Capuchins were formed. They constitute a more observant and rigorous branch.

Les Franciscains

capucin1.jpg
On peut appeler « Franciscains » l'ensemble des religieux qui suivent la règle de saint François d'Assise, qu'ils soient conventuels, franciscains ou capucins.

 

En 1209, François d'Assise regroupe autour de lui onze frères laïcs qui lui reconnaissent une autorité spirituelle, mais n'ont pas prononcé de vœux religieux. Ils prennent pour mode de vie des enseignements des Évangiles comme la pauvreté et l'humilité.

 

Ces exigences très rigoureuses inquiètent les autorités religieuses. Elles y voient un idéal difficile à suivre et sont méfiantes de ce regroupement de non-religieux.

Il faut attendre la mort de François d'Assise en 1226 pour que les franciscains deviennent des religieux (1229) ; alors organisés selon le modèle des dominicains ils se consacrent à la prédication et à l'enseignement.

 

Les Franciscains ne sont donc pas des moines, mais des religieux issus d’un groupe appelé Ordres Mendiants. Ils ne sont pas un Ordre contemplatif, même si l’accent est mis fortement sur la prière, la vie avec Dieu et même l’ermitage.

Ils ne sont pas non plus purement actifs. C’est un évangélique mélange des deux formes typés de la vie religieuse: contemplatifs et actifs. En 1525, les Capucins sont formés. Ils constituent une branche plus observante et rigoureuse.